Award Ceremonies


To be updated for 2018…

2017 Award Ceremonies


11:00AM: Events 01-07 – Three Angels Festival Tent

3:30pm: Events 08-13 including Lotman Challenge Finale – Three Angels Festival Tent

5:30PM: Events 14-21 – University Barge Club

(Masters, Alumni & Corporate Challenge competitors – join in post-race festivities along Boathouse Row)


11:00AM: Events 22-26 – Three Angels Festival Tent

3:30PM: Events 27-34 – Three Angels Festival Tent

5:30PM: Events 35-38 – University Barge Club

The Head of the Schuylkill Regatta sincerely thanks 2017 Race Sponsors: NSM Insurance Group, East River Bank, Cooper Bone & Joint Institute, Daniel Swartley McArdle, Semanoff, Ormsby, Greenberg & Torchia, LLC.

Collecting Your Hardware

#314Athletes are encouraged to attend the Award Ceremony for their respective event(s).  If you cannot attend the ceremony, you may pick-up your medal(s) between 9am-4:30pm in the Three Angels Festival Tent.  The Awards Desk closes at 4:30pm and the medals are then transported to University Barge Club (#7 Boathouse Row).  You may collect your medal(s) at University Barge Club between 5:30-7:00pm both evenings.

Athletes and coaches are welcome to take pictures on the Awards stage at any time of the day; post your pics on the HOSR Facebook and Instagram pages with #hosr17!  Fantastic photo opportunities will be available at University Barge Club as well.

Inaugural & Recent Awards 

The John F. Timoney Memorial Race – Friends of the former Philadelphia police commissioner, a local legend on and off the water, have dedicated an award in his name to help his spirit and legacy live on.   Event 16C – Mens Masters Doubles (50-59) – Ceremony: Saturday, 5:30pm at UBC.

The Mayor’s Cup – In honor of Philadelphia’s Mayor James Kenney and all mayors to follow, as thanks for prioritizing youth and our beautiful parks, and for supporting the rowing community.  Events 33 A & B – Mens and Womens High School Varsity Eights -Ceremony: Sunday, 3:30pm at the Festival Tent.

Annual Awards & Trophies – Legacies of the Schuylkill River

Jim Barker: Special medals are awarded each year to every competitor in the high school singles races in honor of Jim Barker, long time coach of The Haverford School. Jim is a legendary figure in the sport of rowing on Boathouse Row and beyond and is a member of the US Rowing Hall of Fame. Jim is also a board member of the Philadelphia Gold Challenge Cup Foundation.

Christopher I. Blackwall Race: Awarded annually to the winner of the womens masters eights and lightweight eights. Christopher was race director of the Head of the Schuylkill Regatta for more than three decades and is still working hard to make a difference on Boathouse Row and the sport of rowing.

Bob Brasler Memorial Race: Awarded annually by friends of Bob Brasler, a former board member of the HOSR, and an ‘uncoachable’ oarsman who sang better than he rowed. He began each row with his rendition of ‘Oh what a beautiful morning’ when he launched most mornings from University Barge Club.

Mitchell S. Budman Race: An annual award to honor Mitch Budman, long time treasurer and co-director of the HOSR and the driving force behind the growth and success of the regatta.  His efforts on behalf of the entire local rowing community are legend.

Joseph William Burk Memorial Race: Awarded annually in memory of a true rowing legend that left his mark on the greater rowing community, especially the varsity crews he coached at the University of Pennsylvania.

Charles P. Colgan Memorial Race: Awarded annually by the Colgan family in memory of Charles ‘Chuck’ Colgan. Cuck was a champion rower, coach, referee, regatta organizer or whatever it took to further rowing in the U.S. He was the force of change for rowing in Philadelphia and started many rowing programs for women, inner-city youths and people with disabilities.

The Commodores Race: This race honors all who have served as a Commodore of the Schuylkill Navy since its founding in 1858. Including Paul Horvat, current Commodore, and all living past commodores: Liz Bergen, Mike Bergen, Vince Dougherty, Clete Graham, John Hogan, Ed Lucas, Margaret Meigs, Stephen Orova, don Schnorr, Joseph Sweeney, Edward ‘Ned’ Thomas, and Al Wachlin.

Todd B. Craun Memorial Race: An annual award to the winner of the womens championship eight and lightweight championship eight in memory of Todd, a long time oarsman who was an essential part of the bronze medal at the 2008 World Championships won by Vesper’s lightweight women’s quad.

The Fred Duhling Cup: A true legend on Boathouse Row, this annual award honors Fred Duhling, three-time member of the U.S. national team. As a coach, he led rowers to national championships. Overcoming great personal tragedy Fred is an inspiration and serves as a role model for others in the greater rowing community.

Point Trophies: Presented annually to the college, high school, masters and open categories that have the greatest number of points at the end of racing, demonstrating exceptional group skills. The winners are determined by the number of points compiled determined by a pre-set formula. Sponsors for the 2016 Point Trophies are: NSM Insurance Group, COOPER Bone & Joint Institute, League Collegiate Outfitters.

Sir Steven Redgrave Challenge: Open and collegiate single scullers will compete in The Redgrave Challenge. The world’s most outstanding rower of all time, former British rower Sir Steve Redgrave, serves as The Gold Cup Honorary Chairman. Redgrave won an incredible five gold medals in successive Olympic Games from 1984 to 2000, as well as a bronze medal. Today, Redgrave devotes his time to the support of rowing and sport globally, as well as philanthropy, through the Steve Redgrave Fund, which uses sport to bring about positive change in the lives of disadvantaged children.

The Sid Salamon Trophy: Malta Boat Club, in memory of Sidney Salomon, presents this annual award. He was the oldest competitive rower in the country at the time of his death at age 90, in 2004.

University Barge Club in honor of the Founders: This annual award honors three University Barge Club members who founded the HOSR in 1970; Lyman Perry, J. Pattison IV and the late Paul Betancourt.